Dr. Geoffrey Liu was awarded the William E. Rawls Prize sponsored by the Canadian Cancer Society. The award is presented to a young investigator and recognized Dr. Liu’s research contributions in pharmaco-genetic epidemiology and medical oncology, which have led to important advances in cancer control within the past decade.

Dr. Kristie Brock was awarded a level 2 Cancer Care Ontario Research Chair. Dr. Brock came to PMH from the University of Michigan five years ago, and she has already achieved an international reputation for her work in radiation medicine.

Dr. Frances Shepherd was awarded the 2008 Premier's Summit Award for Medical Research. This award recognizes her dedication and hard work as a superb clinician scientist. As the PMH lung cancer site leader, Dr. Frances Shepherd has a global reputation for helping shape lung cancer protocol and treatments for patients around the world.

Dr. John Dick has been awarded the American Association for Cancer Research's GHA Clowes Memorial Award--one of the most prestigious awards within the international cancer research community--for his innovative contributions to uncovering the biological origins and development of human leukemia.

Dr. Ben Neel, Research Director for The Campbell Family Cancer Research Institute, has had his MERIT Award from the National Institutes of Health renewed for 2008. The MERIT award is presented to experienced researchers who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to and success in research. Dr. Neel is the only researcher in Canada to hold this honour, and one of only 4 outside the US.

Dr. Shereen Ezzat was awarded the 2008 Royal College CSCI Distinguished Scientist Award in acknowledgment of his significant research contributions.

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada recently awarded Dr. Aaron Schimmer the 2008 Royal College Medal in Medicine in recognition of his original work as a clinician-scientist. Dr. Schimmer is recognized for his manuscript Critical role for Fas-associated death domain-like interleukin-1-converting enzyme-like inhibitory protein in anoikis resistance and distant tumor formation.

Drs. Tak Mak and Frances Shepherd were named for appointment to the province’s most prestigious honour—the Order of Ontario—by the Honourable David Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario. Dr. Tak Mak, Director of The Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research at The Princess Margaret, was recognized for his work as an internationally respected biomedical scientist.  Dr. Shepherd is a researcher and physician at The Princess Margaret and a professor of medicine at the University of Toronto.  Dr. Shepherd was recognized for her research that has led to new treatment options for lung cancer patients in Ontario and throughout the world.

You have an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.